Football All-District

Mavs Grab 22 Spots On All-District Football Team
Posted on 11/30/2017
This is the image for the news article titled Mavs Grab 22 Spots On All-District Football TeamMarshall High School’s football team rolled to a perfect 6-0 record in District 16-5A this year on the way to the Mavericks’ first outright district title since 2005, and that dominance showed in the results of the 2017 All-District 16-5A team released this week.

The Mavs filled 22 spots on the all-district team, which was chosen through nominations and voting by the league’s head coaches. These included several superlatives, with Marshall taking home honors for Offensive and Defensive Newcomer of the Year; Defensive Most Valuable Player; and Coach of the Year.

Senior linebacker Corteze Hurd was voted the district’s Defensive Player of the Year after a season that saw him lead the team in tackles by averaging over 8 total tackles per game. He added 7 sacks to go along with 3 interceptions on the year.

Sophomore quarterback J.J. Green was voted unanimously as the 16-5A Offensive Newcomer of the Year. He finished with 2,274 total yards on the year, passing for 1,739 and added another 535 yards on the ground with 24 total touchdowns.

Junior safety Champ Mathis, voted the Defensive Newcomer of the Year in the district, finished the year with over 5 tackles per game and 10 passes defensed to go along with one interception, a blocked punt and a fumble recovery.

Mavs head coach Claude Mathis, in his first season in Marshall, was named as the unanimous 16-5A Coach of the Year. Mathis guided the Mavs to a perfect 6-0 district mark to overcome an 0-4 start in non-district play to begin the season. In doing so, Marshall added the program’s 22nd district championship since 1908 – but the first being led by a coach in his first season with the team.

Texas High, which finished second in the district with their only district loss coming against Marshall, took home the other three superlative awards. Senior quarterback Riley Russell was chosen as the Offensive Most Valuable Player, with senior wide receiver Te’vailance Hunt being named the district’s overall MVP.

District coaches also unanimously named the late Leonard Parks, senior defensive end from Texas High who tragically passed away in September, as district MVP along with his teammate Hunt.

First-team selections for the Mavs on the All-District team included: senior running back Rodarius Smith and junior running back Treylin Lewis; junior wide receivers Tahj Washington and DeKendrick Bender; senior tight end Chandler Kelehan (unanimous); senior offensive lineman Kameron King; senior offensive lineman Chasen Hines and junior offensive lineman Christian Hood.

Senior Jacob Suarez was also named the first-team all-district kicker and punter, and Washington was unanimous choice for first-team all-district kick returner as well as first-team all-district punt returner.

Earning second-team honors on offense were senior wide receiver Se’Lah Smith; sophomore offensive lineman Kayce Hurd and junior offensive lineman Ryan Black.

The Mavs’ first-team all-district selections on defense included senior defensive end Marje Smith; senior defensive end Eddie Silas; junior linebacker Brevin Randle; senior linebacker Tre Macon; senior cornerback Demarcus Alexander and senior cornerback Joquan Bass.

All-district second-team defenders for Marshall were junior defensive tackle Rashard Jackson; senior defensive tackle Jamiquai Smith-Hall; senior defensive end Omar Acuna; senior linebacker Christian Lovera; sophomore linebacker Jerry Davis; junior safety Marcus Bledsoe and senior cornerback Derrick Jamison.

Honorable mention selections for the Mavs were junior defensive lineman Sean Roberts and sophomore defensive lineman Marcus Jones.

Marshall went 6-5 overall this season but claimed the program’s first outright district championship in 12 years by going unbeaten in district play. The Mavs outscored district opponents by a 267-98 margin in their six district games. Marshall advanced to the playoffs for the 11th time in the last 13 seasons.